Is Googling a Skill?

Is Googling a Skill?

Short answer - A MASSIVE YESS!!!

Long answer - thanks for considering, mentioned below.

First of all, I would like to mention how the name of these tech giants have become verbs in our day to day life,

Wanna search for something? Google it

Wanna text someone? Whatsapp it

Wanna edit a pic? Photoshop it

Wanna send/receive money? (Paytm || Venmo) it

Wanna photocopy something? Xeros it

I think you get the idea by now, and the term for this is Anthimeria when a companies name is used as a verb.

Love how Google became synonymous with search. So I was watching this documentary the other day, made by Google, about how the search works. Brilliant documentary, they tell about the details, about how many times they change the algorithm, about suggestions, about how they get around 750000000 new searches every day, that is 15% of the total searches in a day.

Keeping the stats aside for now, why am I telling this? Google is filled with information, luckily their indexing works fine for day to day stuff. only 7% of people go and look into the 2nd page of google, so if the article you are looking for is not Search Engine Optimized, good luck.

image.png

Hence it becomes really important to give google the right phrases and words in order to get the desired results. If you are a fresher in tech. and you are looking at how to implement user authentication in ReactJS with Microsoft Identity Manager, and you go on and search, sign in with Microsoft for website , you'll probably spend way more time on getting the right article, Whereas if you search user authentication in ReactJS with Microsoft you'll be set with the first link that google gives you. Google is a pretty powerful search engine, but imagine giving a McLaren to someone who can barely click 60 on a Maruti.

image.png

I took the authentication example for a reason, I was assigned to create an Internal web application at work, I added Authentication to it, but the problem was that everyone in the organization was able to access that application, whereas only a particular team was supposed to access it. Sadly I spent an entire day playing around in the Azure portal, creating stuff on my personal account nothing worked, I saw a few articles, but nothing was quite helpful for my use case, saw a couple of youtube videos, but didn't bear any fruit from them too. My final resort in these situations is to join a telegram or discord server and ask my doubts there, A kind fellow replied within 5 minutes with a link to the article that helped me solved the issue in the last 5 minutes of the day. The thing is, we both are on the same internet, but why was he able to resolve it that quick? Could be two reasons, either he faced the same problem previously, or he was just good with searching stuff on the World Wide Web. These strangers on the internet are the only reason why I still have a job. A correct google search could have saved me hours, we often bump on other resources, like I understood another concept while searching for this one, but I guess with time and practice, googling like a pro becomes a need, the problem you are currently facing is probably been asked by someone on stack overflow or some other forum, but knowing how to search that becomes a skill, which eventually saves time.

but the following is also true

image.png