Traffic

Traffic

Do you remember the first time you received some visible traffic on your side-project? People posting stuff, visiting the application, sharing links. It is a surreal feeling right, finally something in your database that is not "test" data.

Something that you made after spending weeks, days and hours, late nights, ultra-dark coffee's, going over slack, discord, youtube and stack-overflow recursively, feeling an imposter syndrome, existential crisis while not being able to solve a bug, way too many factors which make you think about your credibility to do something. You fight all these demons and the day finally comes when you get a nice and beautiful(optional) application running on the internet, what do you expect after deploying? Probably that people would use it, share it, appreciate it, give feedback, find bugs, these are the few things, the bare minimum things you expect after deploying something to the web.

I made a few applications before my latest side-project, none of them got traction, I shared the link to a few people, they used it and the project ended there, I never got any feedback or motivation to improve them.... until today.

I deployed Vishwall a couple of days ago, asked a few of my friends to give some feedback, improved the UX, and luckily today was the birthday of one of my close friends from college. I thought it's a good way to test the project, hitting two birds with one stone lol, I created a wall for her and shared the link with a few friends and asked them to share it with a few other (pyramid scheme rocks). I didn't expect more than 10 wishes tbh, but then I realised people are kind enough to share something like that, they shared and there were 3x the wishes I expected, which is not bad to motivate someone to improve something.

I was very happy seeing those wishes myself, people wrote lovely messages to her, and the thing I was kinda proud of was that all the transaction of these emotions happened on something I built with a good amount of dedication. I am just hoping for it to improve from here, two of my friends were interested in contributing to the project, which is a good sign and in the end if no one else at least I will use it to aggregate wishes for my friends.

I would love it if you could give this website a shot, The first person to receive wishes on this website gave me permission to share it on my blog, and you can see those wishes here to understand how this site could make someone feel.

You can read the wishes here

Thanks :)